

Approved for Release by the Senate of the University of Victoria

Meeting of Senate December 4, 2020

MINUTES

1. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

- 2. MINUTES
 - a. November 6, 2020

- 3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES
- 4. REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR
 - a. President's Report

CARRIED

CARRIED

5. CORRESPONDENCE

- a. Campus Planning Committee
 - i. Semi-annual report

6. PROPOSALS AND REPORTS FROM SENATE COMMITTEES

- a. Senate Committee on Academic Standards
 - i. Proposed Revisions to the Summer Add/Drop Deadline

CARRIED

- b. Senate Committee on Agenda and Governance
 - i. Proposal to Extend the Break Between the First and Second Terms of the Winter Session

CARRIED

vii. Proposal to discontinue the Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in

8. PROPOSALS AND REPORTS FROM THE VICE-PRESIDENT ACADEMIC AND PROVOST

9. OTHER BUSINESS

Name	In Attendance	Regrets	Position

MEMBERSHIP OF THE SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA Effective November 2, 2020

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS - University Act: Section 35 (2) (a-f)

Chancellor: Shelagh Rogers President and Vice-Chancellor: Kevin Hall, Chair Vice-President Academic & Provost: Valerie Kuehne Vice-President Research: Lisa Kalynchuk Dean, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business: Saul Klein, Vice-Chair Dean of Education: Ralf St. Clair Acting Dean of Engineering: Peter Wild Dean of Continuing Studies: Jo-Anne Clarke Acting Dean of Fine Arts: Allana Lindgren Acting Dean of Graduate Studies: Steve Evans Acting Dean of Humanities: Annalee Lepp Acting Dean of HSD: Esther Sangster-Gormley Dean of Law: Susan Breau Dean of Science: Peter Loock Acting Dean of Social Sciences: Graham Voss University Librarian: Jonathan Bengtson

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE FACULTIES

- Section 35 ((2) (g)
BUSI:	Brian Leacock (30/6/22)
	Brock Smith (30/6/21)
EDUC:	Sandra Hundza (30/6/23)
	Graham McDonough (30/6/22)
ENGR :	Phalguni Mukhopadhyaya (30/6/22)
	Henning Struchtrup (30/6/23)
FINE:	Carolyn Butler Palmer (30/6/22)
	Yasmine Kandil (30/6/21)
GRAD:	Mauricio Garcia-Barrera (30/6/23)
	Martha McGinnis (30/6/22)
HSD:	Richard Marcy (30/6/21)
	Su.()TJENTG/P.96DPJOU) 0 T(39996TBE 2193(2412)+0.0(t) 3 (10.48 0 Td()Tj0.6 Tw 0.253 0 Td() 3 n)045 (0)0.5 (/) 3
	Continuing Sessional: Matthew Koch (30/06/23)

<u>SECRETARY OF SENATE</u> - Section 64 (2) University Secretary: Carrie Andersen

<u>BY INVITATION</u> - Seated with specified speaking rights Acting Vice-Provost: Susan Lewis Assoc. VP Student Affairs: Jim Dunsdon A/Assoc. VP Academic Planning: Robin Hicks Registrar: Nicole Greengoe Associate University Secretary: Ada Saab