Senate Committee on Continuing Studies



Date: September 16, 2020

To: Senate

From: Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

Re: 2019/20 Annual Report

The Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies define its scope and relationship with Senate and other Senate committees. Annually in October, the committee presents a report to Senate on its business and proceedings over the previous academic year.

The Senate Committee on Continuing Studies met four times during the Academic Year: Wednesday, November 20, 2019, Thursday, January 9, 2020, Thursday, February 13, 2020 and Thursday, March 12, 2020. The committee considered a number of issues over the course of the year, including:

- x the review of three dipl oma/certificate programs with approvals to approve the continued delivery for the next three years of the Population,
 Health Data Analysis Professional Specialization Certificate, Restoration of Natural Systems Certificate and Diploma and Canadian Studies
- x the review of the Business Administration Certificate/Diploma with approval of the continued delivery for the next three years with an update on progress by way of a special review within one
- x the review of three program -like offerings: Monthly English (ELC), Canadian Falls Prevention, and Health Professional Development

Bullets of Major Issues:

x Population Health Data Analysis Professional Specialization Certificate (November 20, 2019)

Ms. Miranda Angus, Program Director and Ms. Ash Mo osavi, Program

x Restoration of Natural Systems Certificate/Diploma (January 9, 2020)

Ms. Miranda Angus, Program Director and Dr. Tusa Shea joined the meeting to

x Monthly English (ELC) (January 9, 2020)

Dr. Jacqueline Prowse, Program Director and Ms. Cathy Ebert joined the meeting to answer questions on the report given to the committee.

This program has evolved since it's inception in 2008 from an overflow program to a

2019- 20 Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

Jo-Anne Clarke, (Chair), Division of Continuing Studies

David Alexander, Convocation Senator

Penny Bryden, Faculty of Humanities

Carolyn Butler - Palmer, Faculty of Fine Arts

Victoria Eaton, UVSS Representative

Wendy Gedney, Alumni Association

Mark Gillen, Faculty of Law

Christina Johnson, Student Rep. from diploma or certificate program in Continuing

Studies

Mark Laidlaw, Faculty of Science

Connor Leshner, GSS representative

Susan Lewis, Acting AVP Academic Planning (President's Nominee)

James Nahachewsky, Faculty of Education

Sanghoon Nam, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

Esther Sangster - Gormley, Faculty of Human and Social Development

Poman So, Faculty of Engineering

Kenneth Stewart, Faculty of Social Sciences

Kirsten Kopp (Secretary), Division of Continuing Studies